Boys 8th Grade Cross Country, Boys Varsity Cross Country · Pennywitt, Boys’ Cross Country Win City Championship

The boys’ cross country team won the City Championship on Saturday morning at Collins Park golf course, and senior captain Ethan Pennywitt was individual city champion for the second consecutive year.

The final scores were Start 34, Bowsher 58, Rogers 64, Waite 77, Scott 124, and Woodward 152.

Pennywitt’s first place finish earned him first-team All-City status. He was joined on the first team by Caleb Campbell (sixth place) and Taylor Salzmann (seventh place). Earning second-team All-City were Phillip Dutridge (eighth place) and Josh Yeager (eleventh place). This is the first time in school history that Start has placed three runners on the City League’s first team.

“We worked hard, we worked together, we moved up through the race,” said Campbell. “It feels good to be champions.”

Pennywitt set a new school record (16:36.6) for the Collins Park course, which broke the previous school record by 45 seconds (set by Nate Kinor in 2011) and was nearly a minute faster than Pennywitt’s winning time last year.

“It gives me a lot of confidence for next week at Districts,” said Pennywitt. “I can go faster, I had a lot left at the end.” Runner-up Mohammed Faqi of Rogers High School thanked Pennywitt for pushing him to his best time ever.

The top five runners averaged 17:50, also a school record for the Collins Park course and the fastest for Start at any meet since the 2000 City Championship.

The rest of the team’s runners were Kelly Gibson (23rd), Justin Cauls (24th), Keathun Cunningham (26th), Richard Rogers (30th), Adam Skibinski (31st), Delano Reynolds (34th), Tim Warring (42nd), Brandon Smith (43rd), Zach Kirian (46th), and Loay Alarab (49th).

“All but one of our athletes ran their best times of the year,” said head coach Jesse Squire. “Every single one of them gave their best effort and you can’t ask for more than that.”

Complete results are available at

The team’s next meet is the District tournament on Saturday, October 24, at Pearson Metropark. Race time is 2:00 PM for the varsity. A junior varsity race will be hosted by the Toledo Road Runners Club at 3:30 PM.